Future Shop Reviews

Show reviews that mention
customer service geek squad service customer hard drive manager store price match phone drive
Filter review
Most helpful review

WORST SERVICE! DO NOT BUY PHONE PROTECTION PLAN

Worst insurance i've bought ever. 1. You pay close to $350 over period of 2 years. Now things that you get and actually communicated by agent during purchase 1. Agent: You get new replacement phone Truth : You get refurbished replacement phone. 2. Agent: You get replacement in 24 hours Truth : 2-3 Business days..Seriously!!!! 3. Agent: Plans are not well explained Truth : GSPT - You get refurbished phone GSPR - You get replacement but this is not available for phone 3. Agent : No additional costs Truth: If your phone is physically damaged you pay $100 and you do not have control over it. Even for minor wear and tear you may get charged 4. Agent: 24 hour replacement Truth: there are 2 types of replacements 1. Express: Your credit card will have hold of $451 and when they receive old phone you will get it back 2. Regular: Send old phone first and then get new refurbished phone. Don't know how many days it will take. These people are just robbing you with protection plans. Never buy Geek squad plan.
View full review
ID
#878874 Review #878874 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
Product
Geek Squad Protection Plan
Cons
  • Geek squad
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Loss
$699
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Frustrated Customer

I purchased this Vizio TV from futureshop.com on Oct 22, 2014. It is less then 5 months old. The TV does not work and Vizio says the warranty does not cover the TV. They assert that it was damage when delivered. To be honest, I have not idea. All I know is that I have this huge Vizio TV that does not work and will probably need to replaced. Can you help me? I feel like I am stuck between two companies and each is blaming the other. I am not sure how to proceed. I call both companies and they back the other Paul Kawata
View full review
ID
#605853 Review #605853 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
Reason of review
Damaged or defective

Future shop

I tried to cancel warranty as I'm on disability and can't afford it now,there was no compassion or leniency,terrible customer service. I've tried calling head office,no avail,original store,nobody cares,so what happens when somebody passes the company will still charge them? I was sure it would be rectified when putting my concerns into head office,they are a money grabbing company that doesn't care about personal situations, I wAs not greeted with compassion,I was mislead when warranty was purchased,when life changes as it sometimes does you would think a company like this would recognize such,I am young will not purchase anything In my lifetime and I will tell as many as I can!
View full review
ID
#601868 Review #601868 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kelowna, British Columbia
Cons
  • Customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$500
Preferred solution
Full refund

Future Shop - Apple Laptop Review from Toronto, Ontario

For the second time, the Future Shop sold me a used product as new. This time it was an Apple laptop which cost $2K. I have had problems with the power cord setting on fire, then a few weeks ago, my hard drive crashed. I took it to my local FS at Yonge & Eg (store where I purchased now closed), and albeit I purchased extended service for $500 they will not try to save the info from my hard drive unless I pay $229. When it malfunctioned last fall, I was told the laptop had a previous owner whose name is on the hard drive. I took pictures of it. Took the laptop an Apple store and they said it's a hard drive problem. Called Head Office and can reach only a CSR who dispenses a email address to someone else by rote. Next stop is the media. i kept all my documentation from the first time FS sold me a refurbished Hewlett Packard printer ad new!
View full review
ID
#584170 Review #584170 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
New Reviewer

Cell phone department

If you deal with the Future Shop location in Ottawa at 2210 Bank St, cell phone department, be ready for rude, unhelpful individuals. Given this expectation, do not be surprised if your question is answered abruptly, if you ask for clarification you are cut short, if you are given wrong information. In short, deal with them at your own risk. The manager of the store I spoke to who identified himself as Hussein is quite funny though, you are sure to get a laugh when he tries to rationalize things: "we PRIDE ourselves on our customer service" is a hilarious line after my experience with his representative in the cell phone department. If he considers rudeness, an inability to help a customer, an unwillingness to be professional something to be proud of, he must be .... well, you fill in the blanks.
View full review
ID
#572881 Review #572881 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ottawa, Ontario
Cons
  • Cell phone representative
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

CAR KICKER AMP CHARGED TWICE ON DEBIT TWO TRIPS FOR REFUND/ still waiting

Future shop Burlington Ontario August 12th /2014 I wanted this Kicker amp TCWRT102 on sale 199.00 $80.00 Off. So I Paid for it by debit at the back of the store but their machine froze up while I was making the transaction to pay for the item. The manager was talking to the employee while I was making the transaction . He then said It would show up on my bank account that I was charged twice. He then said I would have to use another machine to make the transaction again. You will be refunded your money in a couple of days. At first I thought he was kidding. I said while just use the money you took out of my account already he laughed and said we can’t do that. So I go to the front of the store and use another machine with debit. It works I come home look up my bank statement up , and Yes two transactions plusI knew that this transaction would put me in over draft. . So I phone Future Shop and complain they tell me to come into the store and we will refund your money . I AM A PARAPLEGIC RIGHT LEG AMPUTEE . I go down to the store and then they tell me that they will have to see my bank statement online where I was charged twice. So I open up my bank statement on my phone showed them the double transaction in my account. I thought ok I will insert my card and get my money back. No We will have to send this off to Head Office when they respond back to us you will have to come into the store again & reinsert your debit card to get your refund. I said I live in Oakville plus have to pull my wheelchair in & out of my van. What a bunch of BS. Gas is 133.00 a Litre . The manager said he would give me $20.00 off the item I said $30.00. He agreed. They lied to me twice about the money eventually would come off my account, then making me come back twice. Even with $30.00 REFUND. I deal with several neuropathic pain problems. Three days & i M STILL WAITING . Life is hard enough I do not need customer Services like Future Shop I will keep you posted Later Richard
View full review
ID
#522174 Review #522174 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$224

Poor Customer Representative and his service

Monday august 4, when we paid for the Mac book, the guy name Sakaar helps us and very knowledgeable about the product, we were very impress. He was very helpful and friendly, unfortunately items wasn't available in store so we have to wait until thursday to pick it up, As soon as the future shop called my husband I went right away to the store to pick it up with a very good mood, I went in to the shop very excited, I was in line when the lady says " if its laptop pick up please proceed to geek squad, went there, geek squad says it should be at customer service and the Mac book should be set up and takes 4 hrs, I was shocked on the phone the guy said "you can pick it up and no set up to be done anymore that was 11am". So I went to the customer service to pick up the MAc book and the guy service me without a smile, no greetings, no hi or hello, ( he is lucky didnt get his name but he was on duty with the lady at around 12noon august 7, 2014). I went to him and he said without even looking at my receipt said ...oh this should be pick up at the geek squad, I was so pissed off, they put me in a ...no place where to go....... When I told him that I was here when I came, been told to be at the geek squad, and geek squad says should be at customer service then what back again at the geek squad, where should I really have to be...... He took my receipt with a force raise his right eye brow and before turning around says i will check, he went in the back look at me again raises his eye brow again and walk back going to the geek squad, after to the geek squad he went to, I guess the storage room, have my box when he came saying no word what to do next, good thing the geek squad mention about the set up, he handed me the box and then I ask, so thats it I can go now, I can take this home now, no more set up needed..... he said NO emphasize got to geek squad and needed to be set up, geek squad is just behind him, He didnt even bother to take it himself to the geek squad nor anticipated the details to do the next...........Ridiculous customer service, I bought my Ipad at future shop sundridge too But I never met this horrible sales rep of yours.....Will never recommend this store to everybody. Horrible customer Service, Will let you feel like you never paid the Item you had bought.So pissed.....
View full review
ID
#519613 Review #519613 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Calgary, Alberta

Worst customer service

I purchased a IMAC on Jan 2 and the associate didn't tell me he would charge 99.99 for setup. But that's fine if they do the setup perfectly. The thing is they didn't do any setup. So I had to bring it back the next day and the tech guy said they would finish and call in 2-3 hrs but I got nothing till Jan 6 when I called them back. And the manager kept saying they called and offered no kindness and just asked me to come again to pick it up. Never shop there again! The add is 1030* 109th St. NW Edmonton , AB , T5J 1M3
View full review
ID
#469016 Review #469016 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta

2 staff member ruded and insulted my wife at january 4, 2014 uptown future shop in Victoria, bc

Went to future shop on January 4, 2014 future shop to purchase a computer. One of the staff was looking for open box stock and then proceed to ask me if that was my mother with me. This was my wife. That is not appropriate to say to a customer and future shop will not keep customers with employees like that. The other staff member who served me in the beginning behind the computer desk was quite rude and abrupt when I asked him twice regarding opening stock for computers. I know they work on commission but this is not customer service. thanks John Vandergriendt Victoria, BC 250-213-****
View full review
1 comment
#943581

Wow, dudebro ..... dial down the rage, take a Midol, and go back to watching Duck Dynasty in your double-wide. Your mother awaits.

ID
#468715 Review #468715 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Victoria, British Columbia
New Reviewer

Future Shop is making my life a living ***!

To whom it may concern, On December 26th, I purchased a Samsung TV (model number LN46E550f7FXZC) on your website during your boxing day blow out sale. I paid a total amount of 629.48$ and I received the product on January 2nd 2013. I bought the TV as a birthday gift for my husband and I was really happy with my choice until we opened the box. First of all, Future Shop sent me a refurbished TV, which I was obviously not pleased with.On top of that, this TV did not have the same specs as on the website. It was clearly specified that the usb component on this TV was able to play videos (which is still stated on the description section of your website) but it didn't. Part of the Description from Future ShopIn addition to HDMI ports, this sleek television is also equipped with a USB port so you've got another way to enjoy even more entertainment. Just plug in your external hard drive, flash drive, tablet, or media player and you'll be able to access and enjoy photos, music, and videos with ease. When I tried to plug a flash drive to the usb component, it was only showing me the option to listen music or to view pictures. No option what so ever to play videos. I then verified the user guide that came with the TV and there was still no information about being compatible to play videos. Finally, I called Samsung and asked them if this TV had the capability to play videos and they advised me that it could only play music and view pictures. I was furious to realize that the product on your website was falsely advertised and that I had to contact your call center to return the product. On January 14th 2013, I called Futureshop and spoke with an agent named Graham (emp# 78474). I explained my situation, inform them that the product was falsely advertised on the website and that I wanted to return the product. The agent verified the website and told me that the product was indeed falsely advertised and there was also another buyer who complained about that feature on the review section. Part of the review written by Rebecca from Guelph, OnJanuary 31stI was most disappointed to learn however that the USB component only plaid jpegs and mp3, not videos. After doing some online research I learned that some Samsung TV's come with the option to play videos through usb and some do not, this being one of them. I had no idea that TV's would come with a limited USB feature, seems kind of silly to me. Had I known earlier may have chosen a different TV for this was one of the features we were most looking forward to. He apologized and explained me that they will be able to do the return at no cost and that I will be 100% reimbursed (TV + shipping fee + environmental handling fee and taxes). The agent then told me that he would send a form for my return request and that I would receive an email or a phone call within 48 business hours informing me of my pick up date. He also sent another form to a specific team so they could update the website and remove the wrong information. I then asked to speak with a supervisor because I wanted to form a complaint since I didn't find it fair for me to wait until Boxing Day to purchase a TV that would end up not doing what they said it would. That I have lost my chance to benefit from their "BLOW OUT SALE" and to know what Futureshop would do concerning that. Graham explained me that he would transfer me to the delivery team, which will be able to help me with my request. He transferred me to agent named Kevin (emp # 75240), which again verified my personal information, explained me how the pick up worked and told me that there was no supervisor available so he would need to send a supervisor callback form. He assured me a callback would be done within 24-48 business hours. Duration of the call: 90 minutes. January 18th 2013, I still haven't received any email or callback for my pickup date and from a supervisor. I decide to call them back and this time I spoke with Nicole (emp# 65473). I explained her my story and told her that I still haven't received a supervisor callback as well as an email or a phone call for the pick up. She apologized as well and told me the agent didn't send the form properly to rectify the website and for the supervisor to call me back before the end of the day. At this point, you can imagine that I was seriously upset that I had to spend 90 minutes on the line with them for nothing! The agent then assured me that everything has been sent properly. She confirmed as well it would be a free pickup and they will reimburse me fully. She also offered me a 45$ credit which would be given back on my credit card for the trouble. She explained that when they would receive the TV back, it would take around a week to have a total reimbursement of 674.48$ (629.48 for the TV + 45$). Duration of the call: 45min. This time it's January 22nd 2013 and I still haven't heard from a supervisor or from the delivery team. I call back again Futureshop and I spoke with agent Marianne (emp# 52336). I explained my situation again and as you can guess, I heard the same thing: "We apologized, we will rectify the situation, someone will call you back before the end of the day...". Duration of the call: 35 minutes. January 31st 2013 and still nothing! I call back AGAIN Futureshop and spoke with an agent (I was so mad that I forgot to wrote down his name). I gave him my order number and asked to speak with a supervisor now. I explained him that I would refuse to hang up until I would speak with one. I finally spoke with a supervisor named Jack, which I explained my situation and what was done so far (which I don't think anything was done since the TV is still in the box in my leaving room!). The supervisor explained me that an investigation needed to be done and a call back would be made before the end of the day. Couple hours later, the same supervisor called me back and offered me a pick up date for February 6th or 7th, I chose the 7th. Jack told me that she would need to confirm the date with the management team and would call me back. Jack called me back confirming the pick up for February 7th and that I would receive a call the day before the pick up to assign me a time window for the pick up. I confirmed with the supervisor the pick up would be free and that I would be reimbursed at 100% (629.48$ + 45$ credit on my credit card) and Jack confirmed the information except the 45$ credit. I told Jack Nicole gave it to me on January 18th and they could listen to the call since all calls are recorded for quality purposes. Jack said he would need to verify with management team and come back to me.Duration of the call: 2 hours. February 6th, I received a call telling me the pick up would be done on the 7th between 3:30pm and 6:30pm. Duration of the call: 2 minutes. February 7th, I stayed home all day and missed a workday (unpaid) for them to not pick up my TV!!!! I get a call at 4:15pm saying that the driver just rang the bell and no one answered. I told the agent that it was not possible, that I was waiting for the driver all day and no truck had parked in front of my condo. She told me it was not possible that the driver didn't ring the bell and that it was my fault because I wasn't home. I asked which apartment they rang and the agent didn't have an apartment number!I also asked for the driver to come back and pick up my TV but the agent declined saying the driver was done for the day and if he would come back they would need to pay him overtime. The only solution that I had, as per the agent, was to reschedule for next Tuesday (which involved missing another day at work). I asked her to schedule me during the weekend and she said that I wasn't able to choose the day that I would like to have. So, for Futureshop, it is ok to call their customers liars. It's ok for their customers to miss a day at work and not being paid as long as they don't have to pay their own staff overtime. It is also ok for their customers to miss a second day at work and not being paid again! On top of that, I have to explain this retarded situation to my own boss to justify 2 absences in 2 weeks! At 5pm, I called Futureshop and spoke with Chris (emp# 78353). I explained the entire story from day 1 and asked to speak with a supervisor. She advised that I would need to speak to a delivery team supervisor so she transferred me to the department in question. I then spoke with Joven (emp# 64738), which offered me a supervisor and I obviously declined. After 30min of hold, I ended up speaking with the same supervisor of January 31st, Jack (emp# 60952). I was offered a callback by the supervisor because she was already dealing with another customer. At 8pm, I got the call back and I started explaining what happened earlier during the day. The pick up arrangement that I had with this specific supervisor never happened and that I was passed the point of frustration. Jack offered me to see if a pick up could be done for Saturday February 9th but I would only know on February 8th. Total duration of the calls: 4 hours and 23 minutes! February 8th, I received a call from Jack apologizing because they will not be able to come pick up the TV this weekend so I have to reschedule for February 14th (yes it is a working day and yes I will need to miss work!). Duration of the call: 21 minutes. Now here I am, a month later from the first day I spoke with Future Shop, in the same stupid situation. Wasted time and energy trying to resolve what was suppose to be a simple return. Being treated like a lying and worthless customer. Having feelings for this company that surpasses hate! Realizing that we cannot even believe a product description on their website because we might get screwed. To Future Shop, I demand that you fix my issue and that I be compensated for this horrible situation you have put me threw. Your company (Future Shop) has made my life a living *** since I purchased a Samsung TV on your website. To all consumers out there, please avoid buying from Future Shop or Best Buy (same owner) where they threat their customers like CRAP and their employees store like if they weren't employees ("Employees arrived for their shift this morning and were met by security guards and closed doors. They did not receive advance notice of a closure.") Sincerely,order #21422****
View full review
1 comment
#723459

C'est bien fait pour toi tu le merites

ID
#382955 Review #382955 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Montreal, Quebec

Non delivery and terrible customer service

I struggle to remain polite at the level of incompetence displayed by some of your outlets. However for the sake of civility I will *** my lip. Not only can you get a simple delivery right, you don't even have the courtesy to call ahead. I have taken a day off work to double checked that you would turn up and lo and behold, that's right no delivery. When you do deliver you made just one out of four items! How can you be so ***? And this you attempt to deliver on a Sunday morning at 9? Zero customer service, zero empathy! Absolutely the very last time I will ever deal with you in the future. I hope people read this post and are warned a few dollars cheaper might only mean more money spent on painkillers!! I do hope you have the character to leave this post on your wall for other people to read!
View full review
ID
#373018 Review #373018 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

Future Shop - Formatted my hard drive and lost all my data

I bought a Gateway computer in 2010, along with the extended protection program. The computer started shutting itself off some times, especially after watching video or something. When this happened, the computer seemed to be very hot. I brought it in to the Store in Richmond Hill, Ontario for repair. I signed the waiver saying I understood Future Shop would not be liable in case of any data loss, and left my computer. I was told I would get a call the following day to tell me the status, and whether parts would have to be ordered and hence, I would have a longer wait. Nobody called. The next day I called and I was told my computer was ready. I went to pick it up, and on the steps listed to fix the problem, it was stated that the power supply was replaced and the fan was cleaned. It was also stated that my Operating system had been reloaded. I asked why, and I was told than when a computer comes in, they scan it to detect problems, and that they found my computer was too slow, and because of that, they decided to format my hard drive and install the OS again. WHAT??? I lost all my files, and the imbecile manager tells me that because I signed a waiver, I basically allowed them do so without responsibility. I am a computer science major myself, and I told him and the store manager that I wanted to know WHY I brought my computer in for one reason (shutting itself down, as opposed to rebooting or some other OS problem), and the power supply was replaced, but then someone decided to look for other problems EVEN THOUGH I DIDN'T BRING IT FOR THAT. This *** told me that it is a standard procedure to check the computers for other problems, which is fine with me, BUT WHO IN *** DECIDED TO FORMAT MY DRIVE WITH COMPLETE DISREGARD TO MY FILES? ***, my computer may have been slow, but I could just buy a $20 application to fix it. I DID NOT BRING IT TO SERVICE FOR THAT. WHY WAS THIS DECISION MADE? If I bring my car in for an oil change and the dealer discovers other problems, he can't just fix them. He has to call me first, and yet this *** *** is giving me the excuse that because he has a signed waiver from me, it means they could do it. SIGNING A WAIVER saying I understand the risks DOES NOT AUTHORIZE FUTURE SHOP TO FORMAT MY DISK, especially because I didn't bring it for that reason. This is completely unacceptable. Either these people are ***, incompetent idiots, or this truly is Future Shop policy, in which case, should not happen. Clients should ALWAYS be notified about these things. You can't hide behind a waiver that a client must sign to get service anyway. Now I have to re-install all my applications and all my personal files are lost forever. This *** me off so much, I almost got sick after it happened. I've spent thousands of dollars at Future Shop for years, but now I AM NEVER BUYING ANYTHING FROM THIS ***, INCOMPETENT COMPANY AGAIN. FUTURESHOP, and all its greedy shareholders can go to *** for all I care. They can't do this to people. I lost pictures of my daughters from the day they were born. You can't put a price tag on that.
View full review
1 comment
#419963

Man I dont even know why the *** ppl deal with future shop its like a group of hustlers they jus keep rippin ppl of their money .. I got the same situation bro just different day!

ID
#293324 Review #293324 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mississauga, Ontario
New Reviewer

Refund taking forever after returning a dishwasher

I purchased a dishwasher 2 weeks ago at Future Shop in Montreal. It was a top of he line Bosch floor model with no defects on it. As it was on liquidation they lowered the price significantly but forced me to buy the extended warranty. When the dishwasher arrived (without the shipping box and from some generic low cost transport company) the front panel was thoroughly dented in several places. I refused the delivery and the delivery gentlemen took it back. Future Shop, however, is refusing to refund me until they get it back....and they have refused delivery of it until the transport company pays for the damages!!! They agree it doesn't make sense but those are their rules and too bad for me. It's not the end of my fight, but it is the last transaction I will ever make at Future Shop.
View full review
ID
#258587 Review #258587 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Montreal, Quebec
Loss
$1700
New Reviewer

Broken laptop

i purchased a laptop from future shop, purchased a 2yr warranty with them. my laptop broke,i took it in to be fixed, got it back tried to put the battery pack in. it fell out. the back of my laptop was damaged so the battery would not lock back into place. went back told them what had happened and they told me firstly it was a defect with these types of laptops, then when i said thats this is was never an issue before, they said its nothing they can do. i spoke to 2 managers when i was there they were both rude and very unhelpful, i was there for 2 hours. i was told by a manager that they would call me in the next 24 hours and well that was on 8th april 2011 i never got a call. so i called HP directly a manager from this company told me not to take my laptop to future shop because they can take up to 2wks-a month in shipping and they handle possessions poorly.she also told me that they do this alot with customers and she has had to deal with many upset people because future shop can-not or will not take responsibility for damages/time delays. i will never again buy from or go back to future shop.
View full review
ID
#233376 Review #233376 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Toronto, Ontario
Loss
$600

Bad customer service attitude

I was sold a defective computer be Future Shop. The hard drive crashed 3 times. When I finally got fed up with having to take the compter back for repairs every 5 weeks the manager was extremely rude and tried to make feel that the problem I was having was my fault. All I can say is Future Shop has the poorest customer service I've ever experienced.
View full review
1 comment
#180881

I had the same problem at other computer stores. I occassionally surf for *** material, and when I told the lying manager this he told me that that is what causes viruses to mess up my computer. Somehow the ***'s program it to set a virus when i visit these sites.

ID
#195735 Review #195735 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
New Reviewer

Future Shop Price Matching - Legal Fraud

I went into future shop having located a really good deal on a flat screen tv at one of there competitors stores. For the sake of saving time and travel distance I went into future shop having seen there price match guarantee and inquired into the tv. The sales man was happy to help me and was ready to grab the tv up until the point where I mentioned the price match and he SUDDENLY REALIZED having spoken with his manager, they no longer had that model in stock. Slightly put off by this I went to another representative in the department and inquired about the same tv (not making any mention of the price match) to which he gladly replied, I'll be happy to grab it for you. Going into the warehouse and coming out with the model in question (which was not in stock!!!) I then mentioned the price match to which he replied, I can only match it if the difference is small. Deciding it was too large he refused to honour the agreement and asking to speak to the store manager I was rejected my inquiry and told to go buy it from the competitor (and i quote "that they would rather sell it to someone at full price"). Being frankly pissed off at this point I asked the manager what grounds they were refusing to price match on and he brought out the terms and conditions, which basically state they can deny any price match whenever they feel like if they work hard enough to make up a reason. Needless to say I was sick of dealing with them at this point and put off by the rude service and the fact that they treated me like I was an *** for asking them to honour there guarantee (the sales man openly denied me as soon as I asked (this was over $180 dollars off a 1600 dollar tv)). Needless to say I will never shop there again and I drove the extra distance to purchase it from the competitor. I doubt I will ever step foot in a best buy or Future Shop again. Don't listen to there ads they are just a load of "LEGAL FRAUD" backed by tricky legal conditions that are directly misleading. Seriously Unimpressed.
View full review
5 comments
#321730

Being their loyal customer for years. I too went to Future Shop (store on Markham rd. and 14th. Avenue Ontario) to buy a Anti-virus product which was on sale at a competitor store. The Sale associates refused to price match it, trying to fool me by saying that it was a different product and said if I want to buy it he can sell it to me at a discount employee price.

Frustrated, I went to and bought it from the other store that had it on sale. Exactly the same anti-virus product that Future Shop refused to price match.

Why have the price match policy when they don't honour it.

Future shop, you've lost me as your customer. Never going back to you.

#188148

Our Lowest Price Guarantee

Get it for less. Guaranteedâ„¢.

We will beat any advertised price by 10% of the difference.

Three great reasons to buy at Future Shop.

1. If you find a lower advertised price we will beat it by 10% of the difference.

2. If you find a lower advertised price within 30 days* of your purchase we will beat it by 10% of the difference.

3. If our own price is reduced within 30 days* of your purchase, bring in your receipt and we will refund the difference.

*14 days for computers, laptops, monitors, printers, camcorders, digital cameras, cellular and wireless devices, portable DVD players, radar detectors, projectors and air conditioners.

Here’s how it works.

If you are purchasing today:

* Present us with a copy of the competitor’s current ad.

* Our associates will verify that the item is in stock and available for

immediate sale and delivery at the advertised price.

* We will beat the competitor’s price by 10% of the difference.

* If you purchase the item from futureshop.ca and there is no Future Shop in your area you can contact us here

If our own price is reduced in the last 30 days*:

* Present us with a copy of our original receipt/invoice.

* We will refund you the difference between the purchase

price and the current price.

*14 days for computers, laptops, monitors, printers, camcorders, digital cameras, cellular and wireless devices, portable DVD players, radar detectors, projectors and air conditioners.

Here are a few terms and conditions.

The advertised item must be for the same brand and model and the product must be new and factory sealed, and subject to a manufacturer’s warranty applicable in Canada.

Advertised prices must be in Canadian dollars, and will be calculated as including all charges applicable for next day delivery to your home address.

The advertised item must be sold through an authorized dealer located in Canada. The terms and conditions of “Get it for less, guaranteed™” are subject to change without notice.

Our lowest price guarantee does not apply to advertising errors or misprints, special educational prices, restricted offers, mail order offers, rebates, coupons, premiums, free or bonus offers, OEM products, limited or minimum quantity or limited time offers, close-outs, liquidations, clearances, financing or other special offers.

If you are not completely satisfied, please talk to our store General Manager. If you need more help call 1-80*-***-**** for further assistance.

Methods of Payment

It's easy to make a purchase at our web store. For your convenience, we accept the Future Shop Credit Card, VISA, MasterCard, and American Express. However we only accept cards that have been issued in Canada or the United States. Please note that all our advertised prices are in Canadian dollars. If you would rather not use your credit card online from your home computer, you can have your order processed by calling a customer service representative at 1-80*-***-****. Currently, we do not have discounts available for our education customers.

Returning Products Purchased Online

Our goal is to ensure that you are completely satisfied with your purchase. When you receive your package, we ask that you examine it closely prior to opening the factory sealed product packaging. If you are not satisfied with your order, you may exchange or return your product at any Future Shop retail store in Canada.

For your convenience, we also accept returns by mail. Please fill out our Return qualification Form to request for a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number. It will take approximately 2 business days before an RMA is issued to you. IMPORTANT: Packages returned without an RMA number will be refused. Your RMA number is valid for 14 days. Simply return the product in the same condition as when you purchased it, with all manuals, accessories, and the packing slip. Click here to fill out our Return qualification Form.

We would be pleased to exchange or give you a refund in-store on most items you buy online, up to 30 days after your receive your order. We will gladly exchange Computers, Monitors, Printers, Notebook Computers, Camcorders, Digital Cameras, Radar Detectors, cellular and wireless devices, Portable DVD Players and Air Conditioners up to 14 days after you receive your order.

Due to copyright laws, computer and game console software, music CDs, DVDs and videos in opened packages may only be exchanged for the same item. Shipping and handling (S&H) charges are non-refundable; however, we will gladly refund your original shipping cost if you are returning an item because of an error on our part, or we have determined that the product is defective.

All products (both defective and non-defective) must be returned in their original purchase condition, with the original packing material, blank warranty cards, manuals and any other item or accessory provided by the manufacturer. IMPORTANT: In the event that a returned order has items missing, the order may be refused, or the value of the missing materials may be deducted from the total credit amount.

On purchases made with a credit card, the same card used to make the purchase will be credited with the refund. The credit will be made within 5 to 7 business days of us receiving and verifying the returned merchandise.

Purchasing by Minors

For the protection of our shoppers, it is our policy to not sell to minors. If you are under the legal age of majority and wish to purchase from our online store, please have a parent or legal guardian make the purchase for you.

Why don't you who where it *** says that Tom you ***.

#132721

I think this kind of situations are more than normal in a country where consumers have no real rights (speaking in a practical way, because laws are there however authorities are closed eyes with those big companies), big companies like banks or telecom make huge profit charging ridiculous prices for the services they provide. Countries less developed than this one have best services, they don't charge *** fees and the companies continue to make good profits.

#126111

My experience dates back a couple years. I bought a printer from them and asked for a price match which the sales agent on the phone said he would do.

Guess what? No price match. It cost me an extra $200. I complained both online and on the phone.

No satisfaction.

Even the Futureshop price dropped by nearly $200 within a week or 2 of my purchase. They wouldn't go there either.

I never went there again online or in-store.

#103118

Future Shop is commissioned sales, and Best Buy is not. The two are exclusive of each other.

FS is well within their advertised exclusions policy, and they have reasons for that.

So yes, that's legal. :sigh

View more comments (4)
ID
#167016 Review #167016 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Toronto, Ontario

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article